Castles in the air

Pure love is divine; it is surreal and heavenly. Affections reciprocated make every moment worth living. I sensed his stare on me long before I opened my eyes. I roused to those chocolate brown eyes staring at me. He head was propped on his hand and eyes gazing at me. I smiled and he said “You are the most beautiful creature I have ever set my eyes on. I can watch you forever and never tire. Did you sleep well?” Will commented. “You Mr. are a charmer. I slept well” I replied. He placed his hand on my cheek and tenderly caressed it. His touch still set my soul on fire. My insides melted like snowflake at sunrise.

I closed my eyes and let myself drift away, to revel in his touch. I mentally captured the moment to later relish it in his absence. When he stopped, I abruptly opened my eyes, only for him to steal a kiss from my lips. My heart elated. “Have I told you how amazing you are?” he asked. “Not today” I teased. “You are amazing. You are the best thing that has ever happened to me Sweetheart. That is why I took the liberty of preparing breakfast” he said. “Wow. Am I not the luckiest lady to have you for a boyfriend?” I retorted. “But I already told you that for you I would do anything”. He jumped off the bed and left for the kitchen. How cheesy. He was so full of life and emitted charisma. But most of all, he was a poet in my eyes, phenomenal.

I smiled at myself. I must have been an angel in my previous life or royalty to be so lucky to have Will in my life, I thought. Then he came carrying a plate and a mug and placed them on the study table next to the bed, my heart filled to the brim. It was not the food on the plate that made me that joyful, or the thought and love put in that plate, but it was the smile he spotted on his face, and the look of happiness that he wore that moved me. Will looked tranquil and serene, like he had no care in the world; like nothing mattered but me. And that made feel very remarkable and that I really meant a lot to him. I wasn’t even aware that slowly but surely my reservations and the walls around my heart were weakening. However, I was well aware that I was susceptible to his all his ways.

“Breakfast is served my queen” he bowed before jumping back into bed. “Well, thank you dear sir” I snickered. It was completely amazing that I can be freely myself and playful with the man I loved. It made everything I knew and learnt about love to be superficial. I perceived that relationships were hard to maintain, that love hurt and that things were not always as they seemed. Perhaps I was naive but loving and being with Will was effortless. He read my thoughts, emotions and reactions like written words. He even anticipated my needs even before I knew, and somehow, I always felt in sync with his.

“Come back to me” Will said and disrupted my reverie. “What?” I blushed. “Come back to me Suri, you left me here alone and went away” he said. “I am sorry my love. I was just thinking” I confessed. I began savoring my breakfast. It was brown bread and tea, despite not having spread the bread or not having added milk to the tea, the meal was a feast to me. “So, where did you go inside your head?” he asked while nibbling a piece of bread. I cleared my throat and said: “I was wondering who I was in my past life” and giggled. He joined in and we laughed. “Why do you even ask yourself that?” he wondered.

“Because of the way you make me feel, the way you treat me, the way you love me is beyond me, my comprehension, beyond anything I can ever imagine” I paused. “Everything is so easy with you; it is too good to be true and it sometimes make me question my sanity, if it is real” I said. Will only smiled, took my hand, kissed it and placed it on his cheek. “You are the dream, my beautiful dream that I never want to wake from but you are real, it is real. As real as it can get. You are my sanity Suri, you are every man’s dream but chose me. You make me feel like I can conquer the world and when you stare at me with those big, beautiful eyes; I believe I can conquer the world and I want to do it for you” he confessed. By the time he finished I was shedding silent tears, but only because there was no longer space for them in my eyes. It sounded so cliché but to me those words reinforced the already deep-rooted love I had for Will in my heart.

Breakfast forgotten and getting cold, oblivious of the world, Will and I sat there, cuddling and drawing castles in the air, stringing our souls together with yarn of words, binding ourselves. Indulged in deep conversations that made the us and our relationship feel invincible in the face of the world

Leave a comment